New and Used RL Prices, Acura RL Model Years and History

Acura RL Models

2012 Acura RL trims

2012 RL

The 2012 Acura RL is a mid-size luxury sedan equipped with a rearview camera, navigation system, and sport paddle shifters.

2011 Acura RL trims

2011 RL

The sedan flagship for the Honda-owned luxury brand, the 2011 Acura RL presents a heavy use of high-technology which includes standard Super Handling All-Wheel Drive.

2010 Acura RL trims

2010 RL

The 2010 Acura RL, a luxury sedan with seating for five, is the largest sedan in the Acura lineup and serves as the flagship for the brand.

2009 Acura RL trims

2009 RL

The company's flagship, the 2009 Acura RL is a mid-size luxury sport sedan with improved styling and power, plus filled to the brim with technology.

2008 Acura RL trims

2008 RL

The 2008 Acura RL is a luxury sedan and the flagship vehicle for Acura, showcasing their technological amenities and upscale interior appointments.

2007 Acura RL trims

2007 RL

A luxury sedan, the 2007 Acura RL is powered by a 290 hp 3.5L V6 which makes it feel like a sporty car while it retains the upscale amenities inside.

2006 Acura RL trims

2006 RL

The 2006 Acura RL is a five-passenger luxury sedan that sits as the flagship of the Acura lineup and is loaded with great features.

2005 Acura RL trims

2005 RL

Totally redesigned for the new year, the 2005 Acura RL is a luxury five-passenger sedan powered by a 300 hp 3.5L V6.

2004 Acura RL trims

2004 RL

The 2004 Acura RL is a four-door luxury sedan that is the largest available in the Acura lineup, and receives interior upgrades for the new model year including power lumbar support.

New Car Previews

See the latest and greatest features of the newly redesigned cars, trucks and SUVs headed to a dealer near you. Search by car manufacturer or specific models to get an in-depth preview of the latest tech, specs, features and photos for the latest model year.

About RL

Making its first appearance in 1996, RL has served as the flagship sedan for Acura for 14 years. Replacing the Legend, the RL acronym stood for “Refined Luxury”. From 1996 to 2004, the vehicle was known as the 3.5RL based on its 3.5-liter V-6 engine. For 1999, the Acura 3.5RL received a mid-cycle refresh consisting of a new front and rear end as well as a stiffer chassis setup. A DVD-based navigation system is added to the Acura RL in the 2000 model year. A navigation system became standard equipment in 2004. For 2002, the Acura RL received an improvement in horsepower elevating engine power from 210 to 225. Completely redesigned in 2005, the freshened styling of the Acura RL sedan also included Super Handling All-Wheel Drive (SH-AWD) replacing front-wheel drive. Engine power for the 2005 Acura RL was also hiked to 290 horsepower and included the luxury sedan’s first use of VTEC technology. The powerplant of the 2005 RL was coupled to a five-speed automatic transmission. A number of technological features were found on the upgraded second-generation Acura RL. Providing ultimate comfort, the 2005 Acura RL also offered the Bose Active Noise Cancellation system that reduces engine and road sound. For a sportier sedan, some 2005 to 2008 model year RLs were equipped with a dealer-optional A-Spec Performance Package. Featuring revised styling in 2009, the Acura RL also included larger displacement 3.7-liter engine and an upgraded suspension. After the 2012 model year, the RLX sedan replaced the Acura RL.