2017 Hyundai SonataSport 2.4LConsumer Reviews

2017 Hyundai SonataSport 2.4LConsumer Reviews

Consumer Reviews

2017 Hyundai Sonata
4.3
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
Rate and review your vehicle
Leave a review
Please add your name
*
Please add number of miles driven
Mileage field can only be numeric. Please enter a numeric value.
*
Please add month of purchase or lease
Please add year of purchase or lease
*
*
Please select your state
*
Please add your comments
Please remove all HTML special characters ("<", ">", "/")
*
600 of 600 characters remaining
Overall rating
Overall
Please rate vehicle reliability
Reliability
Please rate vehicle interior
Interior
Please rate vehicle exterior
Exterior
Please rate vehicle driving dynamics
Driving
Reviews (16)
Sort by:
Nicholas
Oct 03, 2017 | 17,000 miles | Owned 7 months
4
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
"So far have had no issues with this vehicle. Love the gas mileage (averaging 32+ MPG overall, though on long interstate trips have been getting 40+). Have run on ""Eco"" and ""Normal"" drive modes, not sure how much of a difference in MPGs either has made, seems to me that the only difference the modes make is how responsive the gas pedal is to help keep the engine at lower RPMs, but I could be wrong on that one. Other thing I really like about this sedan is the space. Cab is really roomy, and there's TONS of trunk space. The cab has good headroom and legroom, but that trunk is massive. I have two complaints with this vehicle. First, the volume knob on the radio doesn't respond most of the time when you first turn on the vehicle before you accept the entertainment system's ""Terms of Use"" thing on the touchscreen, so if the volume's way up when you get in, it can be startling to not be able to turn it down for a few seconds. You can still press the volume dial to turn the A/V system off though at that time, so not a big deal. Second, and this is more of a personal preference from someone who's used to driving a truck, this car sits quite low to the ground (not sure how low compared to other mid-size sedans though), so if you're someone who has difficulty getting out of low vehicles, take note of that. Overall, for the quality of vehicle you get, which I think is really good, I don't think you can beat the price. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a dependable vehicle to comfortably fit four, with lots of grocery hauling space and great gas mileage"
Justin
Oct 02, 2017 | 6,000 miles | Owned 8 months
3
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
"It's a very good car...for basic transportation. Good seats, view, mileage, space, etc. It's a good, simple car that combines a lot of features better than most competitors. I had to replace a totaled car, and I felt the Sonata stuck the right balance of everything at the $20k mark. But they either picked the worst tires available, or failed to remove very annoying frequencies an drones at anything above 30mph. Now I'm an audio engineer, so maybe I'm biased on all-things NVH, but to me this is something that you won't discover in a test-drive. I learned this after 3 hours on the highway on vacation. If you want a drivetrain and chassis that reads your mind (passing, stopping, etc.), this is not your car. Go for a Honda or a Subaru. If the '18 Accord would have been sold earlier (and I wasn't scrambling to replace a totaled car), I would have absolutely held-out for that car. I have a '16 Civic EX-T (my 8th Honda) and it is incredible in how well it does everything. I wish the Hyundai was the same car, just a foot longer... If we keep this car, tires are getting replaced the moment I can justify the excuse to get better ones. If that doesn't nix the low-frequency moaning I'm forced to endure, I'm selling it for an Accord."
Virginia
Sep 30, 2017 | 11,000 miles | Owned 9 months
4
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
Good gas mileage, easy to drive, hard to change oil. Back seat small. Very large trunk area. Good sound system
Michelle
Sep 17, 2017 | 11,039 miles | Owned 9 months
4
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
"My Sonata is a reliable vehicle and comfortable to drive long or short distances. It gets great gas mileage. It really has no new features and no upgrades in it, which I would think would have come standard for what I paid. My biggest regret would be in value and resale. For that reason, I will only buy a Toyota in the future as I had my previous 4 vehicles."
john
Sep 06, 2017 | 6,000 miles | Owned 4 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
this is my fourth Hyundai product. I have always been satisfied and have never seriously looked for another vehicle. Gas mileage is good, safety is good although I have never had the need to find out, handling is good, comfort is good and this Sonata makes a good traveling car
Anonymous
Sep 01, 2017 | 5,000 miles | Owned 4 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
It is a great roomy econmical car, that doesn't lack style. It has a sporty feel, but drives like a luxury car. Absolutely love my Sonata.
Jim
Aug 29, 2017 | 14,000 miles | Owned 8 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
"I like the ""blind-side"" and ""backing"" warning systems. These features have saved some scratches and dents. My only complaint would be the option with air-conditioning through the seats: the seating surface seems to be harder than previous Sonatas I've owned."
Yvonne
Aug 26, 2017 | 3,800 miles | Owned 5 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
I would rate my car overall with 5 stars. It is excellent in gas mileage, driving performance. We have taken two trips and the drives were wonderful. We have serviced the car only once and unfortunately had to wait 3 hours and had an appointment. The customer service needs to be improved in the service department. Otherwise everything else is great.
Ken
Aug 22, 2017 | 8,000 miles | Owned 7 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
Before I purchased my 2017 Hyundai Sonata SE, I looked at and drove six or seven other brands of sedans. What sold me on the Sonata was the price, smooth ride, and great handling. At freeway speeds I rarely have to move the steering wheel. It has an 8 inch backup camera display that my wife and I use all the time, which is very clear and is about 180 degrees. Our 2013 Kia Optima, which we gave to our grand daughter, had only a 5 inch display which needed improvement, but she likes it, because her 2009 Hyundai Sonata, that we gave her, didn't have a backup camera. I have changed the oil filter and oil in my cars for the past 54 years, since I purchased my first car when I was 18 years old. The only thing that I don't like about my 2017 Hyundai Sonata is that when I change the oil and oil filter I have to remove 7 bolts to remove a large plastic plate under the engine to access the oil drain plug and oil filter. Just takes a little longer for an old man to change the oil. We still love the car.
Carmen
Aug 21, 2017 | 3,000 miles | Owned 4 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
"Excellent value. Highly recommend. Comfortable, sporty, reliable. Great comfort and options. Great materials"
ROSEMARY
Aug 21, 2017 | 4,000 miles | Owned 3 months
3
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
YOU NEED TO PAY CASH FOR A CAR IF YOU CAN, SO YOU CAN BUY RADIO STATIONS. I LIKE MY CAR IT IS A GOOD SIZE FOR ME, I AM A SIZE 1 AND IT IS NOT TOO BIG, IT IS PRETTY GOOD ON GAS AND I LIKE THE PRETTY WHITE COLOR BECAUSE IT IS SO MUCH COOLER
Ian
Aug 21, 2017 | 1,800 miles | Owned 3 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
I've been owning the sport model 2017 Sonata for three months and so far I'm very happy with my choice. If you are looking for a midsize family sedan, the Sonata is definitely a choice you should not neglect.
Jack
Aug 19, 2017 | 3,963 miles | Owned 4 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
I purchased my Sonata Limited 2.0T because I had become dissatisfied with my KIA Optimas TPMS sensor. It had no way to monitor individual tire pressure, only a sensor light and after four years I was tired of it. That is the only reason I traded. My new Sonata is an exceptional vehicle and does have a TPMS dashboard monitor as well as a sensor light. On my most recent trip of 350 miles, I got 29 MPG. I have to have a power heated front seat for my wife and the Sonatas is great. The only complaint, if you can call it that is that the cruise control nanny cannot be permanently disengaged. It has to be bypassed each time the car is started; a very minor complaint. This is my 5th Hyundai and I'm very happy with it and recommend the brand.
Dan
Aug 19, 2017 | 2,500 miles | Owned 2 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
My trade in car was a 2012 Hyundai Azera, which was the sweetest car I ever owned. This Sonata is its equal in every way except power and speed, which at my age is no longer a factor worth the price difference! It rides and drives excellently and gets exceptional fuel mileage, its quality is excellent and is priced below most of its competition.
Jane
Aug 18, 2017 | 2,000 miles | Owned 3 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
The reliability of the Sonata cant be beat. Smart looking car good gas mileage and great power for a 4 cylinder. I have the Sport Turbo.
Sally
Aug 12, 2017 | 3,800 miles | Owned 4 months
5
Overall
Reliability
Interior
Exterior
Driving
Good reliable car. I prefer convertibles, but very few car companies make them anymore. Needed trunk storage because I'm a golfer. Trunk space is very good!! Comfortable smooth ride. Prefer my Garmin to this navigation system. Garmin anticipates, this does not. Do not like the cruise control option that slows you down. Look at option packages carefully, you probably don't need all of the features.
Search local cars for sale
Processing
2017 Hyundai listings within miles of 20149 Find 2017 Hyundai listings for sale near you.
AutoCheck vehicle history report
An AutoCheck Vehicle History Report is essential when shopping for a used vehicle.
  • Get answers to buy with confidence. Save when you purchase multiple reports.
  • Check for severe damage, salvage, and theft

Free dealer price quote
Get the best price and be more prepared with your free, no-obligation new car price quote.
Get your quote
New Car Preview
2020 BMW X4 M Preview
Most Dependable
2019 Vehicle Dependability: Most Dependable Family Cars
Most Popular
10 Most Popular Coupes and Convertibles
New Model Update
New for 2019: Alfa Romeo
New Car Preview
2020 Mercedes-Benz CLA Preview
More related
articles
Compare 0 of 3